Answered By: Rick Ernest
Last Updated: Sep 29, 2015     Views: 12

The files that you upload to your courses should be able to be seen by your students, and in fact, Bb is set up so that the files you upload to your course are set to be viewed by your students.  Unfortunately, there are times when Bb displays an error message when students click on a link for content used in your course (see the example below).  Assuming your course links are set up correctly, there may be a permissions setting that needs to be changed in your course files area.

 

When this happens, a quick way to ensure students have access to the file(s) is to set the "permissions" for the file or folder to allow student users to see or "read" the content.  

In the following steps, I've outlined how to do this for an entire course folder (which would apply to all subfolders and files in the course).  You can use the same steps to apply these settings to individual files or folders as well.

The first step is to open the course files area.  You can click on the double arrow to the right of "Files" in the Course Management menu or click the course name after expanding the menu.  The "Files" area is where all of your course content is located.  

 

On the next screen, you will see your course's content area.  When you link to files and upload them from your computer, this is where they go.  To set the properties for a file or folder click to the down arrow next to the item (be sure that Edit Mode is "on") and select "Permissions."

 

On the next screen, click "Add Course User List."

 

On the next page, you will be able to select "Student" and "Read" to allow your students to have read permission to the file/folder you are working in.  

 

After you click "Submit," you will now see the Student User list (all students in your course) added to the permissions listing with "Read" access.

 

Now there will be no more ugly red banner!

Related Topics

Contact Us